PREVIEW: First Post

I’m not going to write an introduction to me or who I am or what this blog is going to be about for  a lot of reasons.

The first is, nobody reads anybody’s first blog posts. It’s like your first screenplay (unless you’re Oliver Stone), your first album (unless your Justin Beiber), or your first film you made in grad school (unless you’re Martin Scorsese). People only read your blogs, when they can tell other people read your blogs. Blogs aren’t something that are made more interesting because only a few people read it. If I wanted this to be something that only my close friends read, I’d go back to Livejounrnal. (Just throwing this out there. Did you know Livejournal.com turned 10 this year? This fact made me feel really old, as it defined many of my teenage years. I kind of feel like facebook and twitter have made livejournal irrelevant. This makes me sad. There was a layer of honesty and earnestness to Livejournal that does not typify Facebook or Twitter. I think this is because of shortening of the attention span [ By the way, this would be a great time to recommend Neil Postman’s book “Amusing Ourselves To Death.” It’s a great critique of televisual language, even though I think it takes some leaps in saying that the word is a more worthy unit of language than the image] You can’t express the truth of your heart in 160 characters. You just can’t do it. )

The second reason I’m not writing an introduction is this: This is a blog in construction. This means it hasn’t truly launched yet. The official launch of this blog will be April 16. The reason for this delay is simple: I’m lazy and I like to procrastinate. Its that simple. In the meantime though, there are a few things that it wouldn’t hurt to do, if only just to get me in the habit of posting. Here are a few things to look forward to in the preview:

  • An official review of Kehde & Scarpelli’s Romeo & Juliet
  • A preview of the Appalachian Film Festival
  • A truly bizarre story involving Adam Lambert, Lady Gaga, Hair Product, and Martinsburg, WV.
  • A live-blogging of listening to the Justin Beiber album. (Which will again reference Oliver Stone and Marty Scorsese in the same breath)
  • Cats playing pianos, and possibly a couple of hamsters.
  • Lots of the insanity that has come to typify Patrick

You’ll see more of a regular format after the launch. You can also follow me on twitter at @thatconversatio (are we seeing a pattern yet?) I’m sure a facebook page will be forthcoming, but as of present, its just me and my crazy ideas.

I love airports.

About Patrick Felton

Patrick Felton is director of the West Virginia Filmmakers Festival

Posted on March 29, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

